Changing router access username

Title says it all
Post Reply
Message
Author
Boac
Chief Pilot
Chief Pilot
Posts: 5220
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 5:12 pm
Location: Here

Changing router access username

#1 Post by Boac » Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:33 pm

I cannot find any way to change this from default on a Billion 8800NL. Is it possible?

jimtherev
Station Padre
Station Padre
Posts: 590
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 4:40 pm
Location: A country mouse in Derbyshire
Gender:
Age: 81

Re: Changing router access username

#2 Post by jimtherev » Tue Jan 29, 2019 11:00 pm

I guess you mean the SSID for wireless access? Looking at the online manual, the route seems through the wireless -> basic-> configuration pages, when it looks as if you can enter a non-default name.
Any good?

User avatar
Capetonian
Chief Pilot
Chief Pilot
Posts: 9765
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 7:44 am
Location: Enjoying the self-destruction of the EU.
Gender:
Age: 66

Re: Changing router access username

#3 Post by Capetonian » Tue Jan 29, 2019 11:52 pm

There is an option on every router I've used to change the name.

Don't forget that anyone logged in will be logged out after the name change.
One thing you can say for the French, when civilization falls they have less far to fall than everyone else.

User avatar
Rwy in Sight
Chief Pilot
Chief Pilot
Posts: 3373
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 8:04 pm
Location: Lost in an FIR somewhere
Gender:

Re: Changing router access username

#4 Post by Rwy in Sight » Wed Jan 30, 2019 5:21 am

Do you have the router page (something like 192.168.x.xxx)? If yes in my case is via home and configuration.

TBH, I wanted to do that last night and I looked on the internet and it worked.

So I did it again just now This link seems pretty ok How to Change the Wi-Fi Name

Cape I think you can change the name and the access code in the right order and avoid the issue you describe but I am not sure how it works.

Boac
Chief Pilot
Chief Pilot
Posts: 5220
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 5:12 pm
Location: Here

Re: Changing router access username

#5 Post by Boac » Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:53 am

No, not SSID: Router access username - now't to do with wireless. I can change the access password but not the name.

I would like to do it as I am becoming increasingly aware of the DNS issues utilising the 'IoT'. I appear to be stuck with a manufacturer's 'default' username that I cannot change.

A recent huge DNS attack involved billions (NB not my router :)) ) of 'unprotected' devices including Alexas, Siris, Google Assistants, kettles, teddy bears, routers, cameras etc. etc. and passed an absolutely amazing torrent (a record, as far as is known) of data onto the affected server. It will only get worse.

User avatar
izod tester
Capt
Capt
Posts: 398
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 5:27 pm
Location: Forest of Dean
Gender:
Age: 72

Re: Changing router access username

#6 Post by izod tester » Wed Jan 30, 2019 8:45 am

Just checked my BT Home hub, not possible to change the “admin” username.

Boac
Chief Pilot
Chief Pilot
Posts: 5220
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 5:12 pm
Location: Here

Re: Changing router access username

#7 Post by Boac » Wed Jan 30, 2019 8:59 am

I suspected so. There are, I gather, from google, some manufacturers who allow this. I think it should be made mandatory.

User avatar
izod tester
Capt
Capt
Posts: 398
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 5:27 pm
Location: Forest of Dean
Gender:
Age: 72

Re: Changing router access username

#8 Post by izod tester » Wed Jan 30, 2019 10:32 am

It is also possible to build your own router or replace the firmware in some existing routers. That way you can have full configuration options. You may have to provide your local wifi coverage using a separate wifi access point. Google Router Homebrew

Boac
Chief Pilot
Chief Pilot
Posts: 5220
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 5:12 pm
Location: Here

Re: Changing router access username

#9 Post by Boac » Wed Jan 30, 2019 10:34 am

For me, I think, a step too far! :))

User avatar
llondel
Capt
Capt
Posts: 953
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 3:17 am
Location: San Jose

Re: Changing router access username

#10 Post by llondel » Wed Jan 30, 2019 8:26 pm

OpenWRT or DD-WRT can be installed on many routers. It requires good preparation and nerves of steel to do if you haven't got a spare router to hand or other means of connecting your computer to the internet to find out to to fix a screw-up. I run OpenWRT on my router, far preferably to the manufacturer's offering.

Boac
Chief Pilot
Chief Pilot
Posts: 5220
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 5:12 pm
Location: Here

Re: Changing router access username

#11 Post by Boac » Fri Feb 01, 2019 5:10 pm

OK - a mate has told me how to do it with my Billion router. I had assumed it was hard-wired but it is held in a config file which can be edited.

Pontius Navigator
Chief Pilot
Chief Pilot
Posts: 2774
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 8:17 am
Location: EGXC Lincolnshire
Gender:
Age: 76

Re: Changing router access username

#12 Post by Pontius Navigator » Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:00 pm

I change my router name and WiFi password. When I update or change the router I reset the router to my name and password.

If I left the manufacturers settings I would then need to reset 20+ devices.

Boac
Chief Pilot
Chief Pilot
Posts: 5220
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 5:12 pm
Location: Here

Re: Changing router access username

#13 Post by Boac » Fri Feb 01, 2019 9:14 pm

Do you mean wifi SSID name or 'router name' - whatever that is? I am talking about router access.

Pontius Navigator
Chief Pilot
Chief Pilot
Posts: 2774
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 8:17 am
Location: EGXC Lincolnshire
Gender:
Age: 76

Re: Changing router access username

#14 Post by Pontius Navigator » Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:49 pm

Will need to check

Boac
Chief Pilot
Chief Pilot
Posts: 5220
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 5:12 pm
Location: Here

Re: Changing router access username

#15 Post by Boac » Sat Feb 02, 2019 8:29 am

Which router are you using and how do you access it to change things like wifi passwords?

Boac
Chief Pilot
Chief Pilot
Posts: 5220
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 5:12 pm
Location: Here

Re: Changing router access username

#16 Post by Boac » Mon Feb 04, 2019 3:40 pm

Any more, PN?

User avatar
Alisoncc
Chief Pilot
Chief Pilot
Posts: 3180
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 7:20 am
Location: Arrakis
Gender:
Age: 75

Re: Changing router access username

#17 Post by Alisoncc » Mon Feb 04, 2019 5:08 pm

I'm running a Billion 7800VDOX. I've never found any way to change the admin useriD from "admin". Do use a fairly complicated password though.

Alison
Rev Mother Bene Gesserit.

Sent from my PDP11/05 running RSX-11D via an ASR33 (TTY)

Boac
Chief Pilot
Chief Pilot
Posts: 5220
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 5:12 pm
Location: Here

Re: Changing router access username

#18 Post by Boac » Mon Feb 04, 2019 5:22 pm

Save the router setup as a backup. Open it in Notepad/equivalent. You will see the username. Usual caveat - save as ordinary file and not text and re-load. Should be job done. One more panel in the border wall, as they say. :))

Boac
Chief Pilot
Chief Pilot
Posts: 5220
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 5:12 pm
Location: Here

Re: Changing router access username

#19 Post by Boac » Wed Feb 06, 2019 10:25 pm

In case ANYONE is in doubt - this time it was a default password. https://nakedsecurity.sophos.com/2019/0 ... -password/

User avatar
Capetonian
Chief Pilot
Chief Pilot
Posts: 9765
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 7:44 am
Location: Enjoying the self-destruction of the EU.
Gender:
Age: 66

Re: Changing router access username

#20 Post by Capetonian » Wed Feb 06, 2019 10:32 pm

A friend of mine regularly changes his network name/SSID as he lives in a complex where a number of other units can pick up the signal.

A few of the ones he's used :
WARNING This network is monitoring you
Now you are truly f*cked
Sign in to this network at your peril
etc.
One thing you can say for the French, when civilization falls they have less far to fall than everyone else.

Post Reply