Chinook Crash Kintyre 1994

FD2
Chief Pilot
Chief Pilot

Chinook Crash Kintyre 1994

#1 Post by FD2 » Sun Jun 20, 2021 11:01 pm

Just published, a new a and critical book concerning the dodgy blame game following the Chinook crash on the Mull of Kintyre in 1994 which killed 29 people. The BoE sought to blame the pilots and that stood for many years before a grudging admission that it might have been due to other causes. New and dodgy software in an aircraft that should not have been cleared to fly as well as other suspect causes are examined in detail. Maybe it will finally prompt a proper enquiry into the whole affair. https://www.heraldscotland.com/news/193 ... k-tragedy/

Check out Amazon and the usual sources for 'The Inconvenient Truth: Chinook ZD576 - Cause and Culpability' by David Hill

Author David Hill:

I am a retired Aeronautical Engineer having worked in the Ministry of Defence for over 30 years, primarily as an Avionics/Aircraft Programme Manager.

Since retiring I have provided advice and assistance to families of Servicemen and Civilians who have perished in aircraft accidents, notably Chinook ZD576 (Mull of Kintyre), Nimrod XV230 and Hercules XV179.

In 2016, I published 'Their Greatest Disgrace', a personal perspective of the campaign to clear the Chinook ZD576 pilots. (Mull of Kintyre 1994).

In 2014, at the behest of Sir Roger Gale MP, and on behalf of families of deceased RN aircrew, I prepared a report into the loss of two Royal Navy Sea King ASaC Mk7 helicopters (Iraq, March 2003). It demonstrates known performance degradation between the AEW Mk2 and ASaC Mk7 wholly coincided with the three main Contributory Factors. This was submitted to the House of Commons Defence Select Committee, and published in May 2019 as part of a new book 'Breaking the Military Covenant'.